Plural’s Commitment to Research

The founders of Plural Publishing, the late Dr. Sadanand Singh and his wife and current CEO, Angie Singh, demonstrated their deep commitment to the Communications Science and Disorders and Audiology professions by establishing five scholarships to be awarded each year to worthy candidates who are engaged in important research for their respective fields of interest.  In addition to the above awards, two Plural Publishing Research Scholarships, in honor of Dr. Sadanand Singh, are awarded at CAPCSD each year to support master-level and a doctoral-level graduate student research.  Our belief is that education extends far beyond the classroom and that the research conducted in these fields is of vital importance to everyone, from student to clinician to academician.


It is our pleasure to announce this year’s winners of the 2013 Plural Publishing Research Scholarship Awards in Honor of Dr. Sadanand Singh given out by the Council of Academic Programs in Communication Sciences and Disorders (CAPCSD). We had many fine applicants this year making it a very tough decision. Congratulations to Doctoral Winner Suzanne N. King and Master’s Winner Whitney Holman.

Scholarship winners: Suzanne N. Kind and Whitney Holamn

Doctoral Winner: Suzanne N. King

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Susan L. Thibeault, Ph.D., CCC-SLP, Faculty Advisor

“Characterization of immune cells in vocal fold scarring”


Master’s Winner: Whitney Holman

St. Cloud State University

Dr. Sarah Smits-Bandstra, Faculty Advisor

“Neurological Speech Planning Processes in Parkinson’s Disease”


We would also like to proudly congratulate this year’s five Student Research Forum Awardees: Thomas Wise, Julianne Ceruti, Virginia Ramachandran, Andrew Keiner, and Carolyn Whitcomb. They presented their award winning research and received their awards at the AudiologyNOW! 2013 Conference in Anaheim, CA two weeks ago.  The Student Research Forum is funded by the AAA Foundation with underwriting support provided by Plural Publishing.

Below are the winners pictured with Dick Danielson, Chris Spankovich, and our CEO Angie Singh:

Thomas Wise



The Effect of Surface Modifications of Titanium Substrates on Spiral Ganglia Dendrite Outgrowth –  Thomas Wise, AuD Student, SDSU/UCSD





Julianne Ceruti

ABR and Behavioral Off-Frequency Masking Patterns –  Julianne Ceruti, BA, University of Connecticut





Virginia Ramachandran

Longitudinal Outcomes of DPOAEs and WBR in Infants –  Virginia Ramachandran, AuD, PhD, Wayne State University






Andrew Keiner

Tinnitus Comparison of Electric and Acoustic Stimulation in Patients with a Cochlear Implant –  Andrew Keiner, MS Audiology; AuD student, University of Iowa




Carolyn Whitcomb


Clinical Utility of Rotational Chair Testing in the Diagnosis of Migraine Associated Vertigo and Chronic Subjective Dizziness –  Carolyn Whitcomb, BA, Dent Neurologic Institute/ Hearing Evaluation Services of Buffalo




We are also proud to announce that Plural will be honored this year with CAPCSD’s Distinguished Contributions Award. The award will be presented to our CEO Angie S. Singh during the annual CAPCSD meeting at a ceremony which will be held on Thursday, April 18th during the evening banquet.

2 thoughts on “Plural’s Commitment to Research

  1. Pingback: Letters & Science News & Notes | CSD doctoral student wins research scholarship

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *